Baby Shower Gift

A few months ago, I saw a great post on how to make origami stars.  Even since, I’ve been wanting to give it a try! Nikki, In Stitches shares a nice photo tutorial on how to make these stars. On Saturday there was a baby shower for Nathan’s cousin, so I knew it was the perfect time to try out the stars. I also decided that I might as well make the “ribbon” for the box and the card, too!

I haven’t made any paper crafts in quite a while, so this was a lot of fun! Although, now that I write this, I realize that I never showed you what I made for Nathan for Valentine’s day! I’ll have to share that another time :)

I love how my star turned out! Next time I make these, I’m going to find some nice double-sided paper to use. I had to be careful with this paper because the non-patterned side had a wonderful grid for cutting, but I didn’t want it to show through on the star.

Now for the actual gift for the mom-to-be…baby socks and matching hat:

Pattern: Sweet Baby Kate by Irishgirlieknits
Started: February 22, 2011
Completed: March 15, 2011
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock Mediumweight in Lucy colorway

I made 2 minor adjustments to the pattern. There is supposed to be a picot edge on the socks and hat, but I was having trouble getting it to work on the socks. I decided it wasn’t necessary for a boy anyway, so I just did a 1×1 rib instead. Then I added a pom pom to the hat because I couldn’t resist the cuteness!

10 thoughts on “Baby Shower Gift

  1. How insanely special! I’m glad you included the link because I’m gonna’ hafta’ try some stars of my own. I love origami..

  2. Those stars are perfect! Perfect color choices, too! Everything matches so well…and looks beautiful!
    Thank you so, so much for sharing my how-to!
    XOXO,
    Nikki

  3. Terrie, that bow is beautiful! I may have to go to the link and try it as well. Your knitting is great! Glad you have a hobby, and you are very good at it :) Hope you find many more reasons to continue. We are having a rain event tonight and tomorrow, so I can’t access Yahoo for some reason. We will spend tomorrow at the Ft. Campbell Museum.

  4. I love the box and bow, it goes so well with the knitted hat and socks. You did a beautiful and very thoughtful job. I am sure she was elated.

  5. Pingback: Pink Hair Thing | StarSpry

Leave a Reply

